10 thoughts on “Socially Constructed Metadata?

  1. i tend to think of metadata as constructed. my takeaway from doctorow in the “metacrap” article is that our systems of representation are flawed because we’re flawed, but they can still be useful to the extent we recognize their/our limitations.

    • Absolutely, Molly. The kind of perspective you mention, and the one to which I most relate, is something along the lines of critical realism. This theory believes that while our descriptions and perceptions of reality are socially conditioned, that does not mean that human beings aren’t able to speak meaningfully about the material world. Therefore, it is at least worth trying to to create metadata.

  2. Though the article gets a bit too technical for me in places, I find the points brought up intriguing. Your question as to the nature of metadata creation in terms of relative and objective realities is quite the fascinating topic and one that I would love to see some deeper exploration of. It very much reminds me of my historiography classes and the notion of whether there is an objective truth in the writing of history. I have a strong inclination to believe that metadata creation is always influenced, to some extent, on the background experiences, knowledge, and perception of the creator, but does not necessarily inhibit the ability of said metadata to be reflective of an objective reality or truth. Great stuff here James, and some very challenging ideas to explore.

    • It’s as a student of history, though it may seem strange to some, that has brought me down this path. I’ve always been fascinated by methodologies, and I’m not sure that that’s the case with most people. Metadata creation as you’ve mentioned, like history, is always susceptible to human meaning-making. That’s doesn’t mean that it’s useless, as many great comments and posts have demonstrated. In fact, we may just have to live with the fact that we will never present the objective reality (or essence) of any particular thing, even though we believe it’s there. That’s okay. That doesn’t mean that we are doomed to spinning our wheels. I think you and I, like others who have commented, would fall into the critical realist perspective (i.e., while all human meaning-making is subject to social processes, hierarchies, and discourses, that doesn’t mean that there is no essence to objects in the real world and that we can’t speak in some way accurately about them). I realize the label can be annoying and far too encompassing of diverse perspectives, but it’s the best description I have of my and most people’s perspectives that I’ve heard. Thanks for the great feedback!

  3. This is a fascinating post. I don’t see how social conception could not influence metadata. Surely metadata is not purely objective. Culture could potentially affect metadata in many ways. Different cultures may construct metadata based on their perceptions or ideas and may interpret this metadata based on their own perception as well. Also, I know this is off topic, but translation may be lost and therefore metadata description could be altered.

    • Thanks for the comment. In my post after this one, I mention in a reply to a comment that language in and of itself is socially constructed and, therefore, attempts to speak consistently across all cultures and times in reference to objects as they exist in reality are problematic (but not impossible, I might add). This would also apply to your comment on translation being lost.

  4. Good posts and comments! This problem of interoperability is largely solved in “closed” organizing environments (i.e., library cataloging) due to the presence of a network of trained catalogers and high-level tools such as the LCSH and LCNAF. Two additional complications for metadata include having to describe digital object and the fact that various organizations don’t have items held in common (for example, a lot of libraries have the book “The Shining”, and that’s been one of the economic drivers for catalogers to cooperate and share their work).

    One other advantage that catalogers have is the presences of reference librarians in libraries to assist when users need help … that’s not always possible for web-accessible digital repositories.

  5. Great post and I like that you included a survey. Metadata creation can never be an exact science, but having standards, controlled vocabularies, and information professionals sure does help. We should never give up!

Leave a comment